Board of County Commissioners

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Schaljo-Hernandez, Christopher

Commissioner Christopher Schaljo Hernandez
  • Departments:Commissioners
  • Title:District 1 Commissioner - Chair
  • Phone:(575) 525-5808
  • Fax:(575) 525-5812
  • Email:

845 N Motel Blvd
Las Cruces, NM 88007

Cell: (575) 386-6023
TDD: (575) 525-5951


Executive Assistant: Garrett Moseley    Email:

Committees: Animal Services Center of the Mesilla Valley, Mesilla Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization, South Central Solid Waste Authority, and Fire Protection Excise Tax Advisory Board

Christopher Schaljo-Hernandez was elected to the Doña Ana County Commission District 1 seat in November of 2022. District 1 includes Berino, Vado, Mesquite, La Mesa, San Miguel, Mesilla, Downtown Las Cruces, Picacho Hills, and Fairacres. He took office on Jan. 1, 2023, and will be eligible to seek re-election in 2026. 

Commissioner Schaljo-Hernandez was born in St. Louis Missouri. He attended the University of Missouri-St. Louis, where his love of government began. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Government at New Mexico State University in 2012. After college, Commissioner Schaljo-Hernandez was involved in local and statewide politics while continuing to support his community. 

Commissioner Schaljo-Hernandez has served a variety of community nonprofits around Las Cruces and surrounding areas, including the Red Ribbon Bash, Southern New Mexico Pride Board, and the Community Foundation of Southern New Mexico. He is also a former chair of The Doña Ana County Democratic Party. 

Christopher and his husband, Russell, engage in philanthropic efforts through their business venture, Salud! De Mesilla, where they employee 30+ team members. 


Return to full list >>

The Board of County Commissioners sets policy for the governance of Doña Ana County. The Doña Ana County Board of Commissioners regularly meets at 9 a.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. Meetings are held in the Commission Chambers on the ground floor of the Doña Ana County Government Center, 845 N. Motel Blvd., in Las Cruces. Each Commissioner represents a district.